Public and Employee Communications



CDCR Press Office: (916) 445-4950

The Office of Public and Employee Communications (OPEC) is composed of a Press Office, the Office of External Affairs, the Office of Internal Communication, and the Office of Video and Website Communications. The goal of OPEC staff members is to provide timely and relevant information through various media that educates the public, the media, lawmakers and internal staff members on the policies, events and successes of the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation.

OPEC coordinates press conferences, develops/disseminates public information via press releases, advisories, and website and social media postings. OPEC also facilitates media interviews, oversees documentaries, organizes media tours of prisons and other CDCR facilities, and provides training to Public Information Officers working the department’s 34 prisons, Juvenile Justice facilities, fire camps and parole regions.

Office of Public and Employee Communications (OPEC)
Name
Title
Email Address
Deborah Hoffman Assistant Secretary, Communications Deborah.Hoffman@cdcr.ca.gov
Thy Vuong Staff Services Manager Thy.Vuong@cdcr.ca.gov
Press Office
Name
Title
Email Address
Jeffrey Callison Press Secretary Jeffrey.Callison@cdcr.ca.gov
Terry Thornton Deputy Press Secretary Terry.Thornton@cdcr.ca.gov
Luis Patino Information Officer II Luis.Patino@cdcr.ca.gov
Dana Simas Information Officer II Dana.Simas@cdcr.ca.gov
Kristina Khokhobashvili Information Officer I Kristina.Khokhobashvili@cdcr.ca.gov
Joseph Orlando Information Officer I Joe.Orlando@cdcr.ca.gov
Bill Sessa Information Officer I Bill.Sessa@cdcr.ca.gov
Richard Barraza Office Technician Richard.Barraza@cdcr.ca.gov
Office of External Communications
Name
Title
Email Address
Nolice Edwards Deputy Assistant Secretary
of External Communications
Nolice.Edwards@cdcr.ca.gov
Albert Rivas Deputy Chief Albert.Rivas@cdcr.ca.gov
Alexandra Powell Staff Services Analyst Alexandra.Powell@cdcr.ca.gov
Internal Communications & Multimedia Office
Name
Title
Email Address
Bill Enfield Chief, Internal Communications William.Enfield@cdcr.ca.gov
Don Chaddock Associate Governmental
Program Analyst
Don.Chaddock@cdcr.ca.gov
Michelle Mraule Associate Governmental
Program Analyst
Michelle.Mraule@cdcr.ca.gov
Scott Sabicer Director, Television Communications Center (Supervisor) Scott.Sabicer@cdcr.ca.gov
Fred Harbott Director, Television Communications Center Fred.Harbott@cdcr.ca.gov
Cam Applegate Television Specialist Cameron.Applegate@cdcr.ca.gov
Jeff Baur Television Specialist Jeff.Baur@cdcr.ca.gov
Eric Owens Television Specialist Eric.Owens@cdcr.ca.gov
Thomas Gonzales Webmaster Thomas.Gonzales@cdcr.ca.gov
Nic Solberg Webmaster Nic.Solberg@cdcr.ca.gov
The Press Office also provides other services to media:

Stock Video Footage and Still Photographs

The Office of Public and Employee Communications maintains a library of stock video footage and still photographs and makes these available to the media upon request. There is current and archived footage and photographs of correctional facilities and programs, including restricted or limited access areas such as control booths, guard towers, the execution chamber, death row, and Administrative Segregation and Security Housing Units.

The video footage and still images included on the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation's website are considered public documents, which are in the public domain.  No signed licensed agreement is necessary for permissions. To request a higher resolution of stock video footage or still photographs, please contact OPEC at (916) 445-4950.

Media Inquiries

The Press Office researches and responds to inquiries from the media. Facts are gathered as quickly as possible and provided to the inquirer. If the requested facts are not known or are otherwise unavailable, the inquirer shall be informed and the reasons therefore.

Prison Industry Authority

The Prison Industry Authority (PIA) provides productive work assignments for inmates in California's adult correctional institutions to reduce idleness and improve job skills. Contact the Prison Industry Authority at (916) 358-1802.

Board of Parole Hearings

The Board of Parole Hearings (BPH) conducts adult lifer hearings, juvenile parole eligibility hearings, and parole revocation hearings.

For those who wish to email specific individuals in the Office of Public and Employee Communications, please put a period (.) between the names and then address the email to @cdcr.ca.gov

For example, Joseph Smith would be joseph.smith@cdcr.ca.gov

To view and print some files you may need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Get Adobe Reader