Contact the
Office of the Ombudsman

Main Number: 916-445-1773


Sara Malone

Chief Ombudsman
Sara.Malone@cdcr.ca.gov
(916) 327-8467

Institutions covered:

  • California State Prison Sacramento
  • Folsom State Prison
  • Folsom Women’s Facility
  • Central California Women’s Facility
  • California Institution for Women
  • Valley State Prison
  • McFarland
  • CCTRP's


Sara L. Smith

Ombudsman
Sara.Smith@cdcr.ca.gov
(916) 324-5458

Institutions covered:

  • California Correctional Institution
  • California City Correctional Facility
  • California State Prison Los Angeles County
  • Kern Valley State Prison
  • North Kern State Prison
  • Division of Juvenile Justice Facilities
  • Taft CCF


Scott Jacobs

Ombudsman
Scott.Jacobs@cdcr.ca.gov
(916) 323-2994

Institutions covered:

  • Pelican Bay State Prison
  • Avenal State Prison
  • Pleasant Valley State Prison
  • Wasco State Prison
  • Ironwood State Prison
  • Chuckawalla Valley State Prison
  • Sierra Conservation Center
  • Shafter CCF


Cherita Wofford

Ombudsman
Cherita.Wofford@cdcr.ca.gov
(916) 324-6123

Institutions covered:

  • California State Prison Corcoran
  • California Substance Abuse Treatment Facility and State Prison at Corcoran
  • Salinas Valley State Prison
  • Correctional Training Facility
  • California State Prison Solano
  • California Medical Facility
  • Mule Creek State Prison
  • Central Valley CCF


Karin Richter

Ombudsman
Karin.Richter@cdcr.ca.gov
(916) 324-5448

Institutions covered:

  • California Health Care Facility Stockton
  • Richard J. Donovan Correctional Facility
  • California Institution for Men
  • California Rehabilitation Center
  • California Men’s Colony
  • Division of Juvenile Justice Facilities
  • Desert View CCF


Sonya Valle

Ombudsman
Sonya.Valle@cdcr.ca.gov
(916) 324-3265

Institutions covered:

  • High Desert State Prison
  • California Correctional Center
  • San Quentin State Prison
  • Deuel Vocational Institution
  • Centinela State Prison
  • Calipatria State Prison
  • Delano CCF
  • Golden State CCF