THE RICHARD A. McGEE CORRECTIONAL TRAINING CENTER POLICY FOR

REPORTING WORK RELATED INJURY OR ILLNESSES

TO ALL EMPLOYEES:
You are insured for any on-the-job injury or work related ilinesses by State Compensation Insurance Fund.
Workers' Compensation provides the following benefits:

Medical Care - All approved medical and hospital bills.
Disability Income - If hospitalized or unable to work for more than three days as a result of your work injury or

illness, you will receive temporary disability payments equal to two-thirds of your average weekly wage, up to the
maximum allowable by law, per week. If your injury results in a permanent disability, which decreases your ability
to work, additional payments will be provided.

Vocational Rehabilitation - If your injury or iliness prevents you from returning to your same job, you may be
eligible for vocational rehabilitation which will help you to re-enier the work force with your same employer or a

new employer. N
Death Benefits - Should a work injury or illness cause death, a benefit will be paid to your dependents.

Effective immediately, the following policy will be in effect:

1.

Report all injuries promptly to your immediate supervisor. This includes minor sprains and injuries that may
only require first aid. Failure to report injuries may result in a delay or loss of benefits. Complete the
Employee Claim Form and return it to your employer within 24 hours of receipt.

Obtain a Workers’ Compensation folder, which contains a “Natice to Physician” form from your supervisor
if you think you need professional medical attention. These forms must be given to the medical provider in

order to obtain medical treatment.

Any' injury requiring emergency treatment should be treated at the nearest hospital emergency room
immediately following the injury. Call 911 for assistance if needed.

For normal medical treatment, you must report to the following medical facility: Sutter Medical Facility, 8170
Laguna Blvd., Elk Grove, California. If you go to any other medical facility without prior authorization from
State Compensation Insurance Fund, your billings may not be paid and will become your responsibility. The
exception will be if at the time of hire or prior to a work injury or illness occurring, you declare in writing your
personal physician of record to include the name, address and telephone number. |f after 30 days you wish
to select another physician, you should address your request in writing 10 State Compensation Insurance

Fund.

Should the doctor restrict you from regular duty because of a work related injury or iliness, you must
immediately provide your supervisor with the “Notice to Physician” form outlining your restrictions. We will
attempt to accommodate your restrictions by providing appropriate modified/alternate duties for you while you

are unable to perform your normal duties, whenever possible.

It is illegal to collect Workers' Compensation temporary disability income while working. If you return to work
while collecting temporary disability, you must contact State Compensation Insurance Fund.

Workers' Compensation fraud is a felony in California. Any persoh who files or contributes to the filing of a
false Workers' Compensation claim is committing a crime punishable by a prison sentence and/or penalty

fine.

In order for this system to work most efficiently, we must have your cooperation. Please see your supervisor should
you have any questions, or you may contact either the Claims Representative at State Compensation Insurance Fund
at (916) 924-5100; or the Information and Assistance Officer with the Division of Workers® Compensation at (916) 263-

2741.

| have read the above information and agree to comply with the stated company paolicy.
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