Division of
Adult Parole
Operations (DAPO)

Parole Agents at a meeting

Sex Offender Information Overview

GPS Monitor being recharged.


California leads the nation in tracking sex offenders with Global Positioning Technology.   

There are almost 84,000 sex offenders in California. CDCR is responsible for supervising about 9,300 or about 11 percent of them.  

3 min video video

Click to view Latest Jessica's Law Statistics

Since the passage of Jessica's Law in 2006, the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) has been working to aggressively enforce new residency restrictions, and to utilize new technology - such as Global Positioning System (GPS) - to monitor sex offenders more closely and efficiently. California's parole division has made it a priority to work with local law enforcement to implement Jessica's Law, better monitor sex offenders released from prison and ensure public safety.

This site is dedicated to providing the latest news and information on sex offenders as well as information on collaborative efforts between CDCR and other agencies dedicated to protecting public safety.

Jessica's Law vs Megan's Law

With the highest population of sex offenders in the nation, California has enacted historic new laws pertaining to sex offenders. However, there still remains much confusion on the intent and purposes of these new laws. The recent passage of Jessica's Law has often been confused with a separate law known as Megan's Law. Here are some quick facts which may help in distinguishing these two landmark measures:

Jessica's Law deals with proximity and tracking - Proposition 83, also known as Jessica's Law, was passed by California voters on Nov. 7, 2006. It enhances the state's ability to detect, track and apprehend sexual offenders. Jessica's Law prohibits sex offenders that are released from prison to live within 2,000 feet of parks and schools, as well as other restrictions.

Megan's Law addresses registration requirements - Expanded access was given final passage by the Legislature on August 24, 2004 was signed by the Governor on Sept. 24, 2004. The law allowed the public to access information on sex offenders required to register with local law enforcement.
Click here to get more information on Megan's Law and to access the state database

To view and print some files you may need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Get Adobe Reader