Division of Adult Parole Operations
Additional Statutory Parole Requirements
Penal Code Section 457.1 – Arson Registration 457.1. (a) As used in this section, "arson" means a violation of Section 451, 451.5, or 453, and attempted arson, which includes, but is not limited to, a violation of Section 455. (b) (1) Every person described in paragraph (2), (3), and (4), for the periods specified therein, shall, while residing in, or if the person has no residence, while located in California, be required to, within 14 days of coming into, or changing the person's residence or location within any city, county, city and county, or campus wherein the person temporarily resides, or if the person has no residence, is located.
Simply stated, qualifying offenders required to register as an arson offender must, within 14 days of their release, register with the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over their residence. A copy of the registration must be provided to their parole agent. Additionally, the offender must update their registration within 14 days of changing their address.
Penal Code Section 457.1 has many subsections that affect arson registration and should be reviewed in its entirety for complete information.
Penal Code Section 186.30 – Gang Registration 186.30. (a) Any person described in subdivision (b) in this section shall register with the chief of police of the city in which he or she resides, or the sheriff of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated area, within 10 days of release from custody or within 10 days of his or her arrival in any city, county, or city and county to reside there, whichever occurs first.
Penal Code Section 186.30 has many subsections that affect gang registration and should be reviewed in its entirety for complete information.
Parole Agents may issue lawful verbal instructions which you must adhere to. Examples of these instructions include, but are not limited to:
- Instructions to report to the parole office on a particular date and time.
- Instructions to submit to anti-narcotic testing.
- Instructions to register with local law enforcement.
Verbal instructions are valid for five days.
A Parole Agent may also issue written instructions. These instructions are valid for a period not to exceed thirty days. Any added requirement that will exceed thirty days must be placed into the special conditions of parole.
Failure to follow any lawful verbal or written instructions will result in a violation of parole, and may result in a return to custody.
Adult Parole Operations Links
- Adult Parole Operations Overview
- Adult Parole Careers
- American Correctional Association Accreditation
- California Parole Apprehension Teams (CPAT)
- Electronic Monitoring
- Lifer Parole Process
- Mental Health Services Continuum Program
- Statutory Parole Requirements
- Parole Services
- Parole Conditions
- Parolee Information Handbook
- Parolee Restitution Payment Instructions
- Restitution Responsibilities, Information for Adult Offenders
- Sex Offender Information Overview
- Sex Offender Management Resources
- State Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders (SARATSO) Committee