Registration Requirements

Registration Requirements

Registered sex offenders are required to update their information annually with local law enforcement, within five working days before or after their birthday. Some sex offenders must update their information more often: transients (homeless) must update every 30 days and sexually violent predators must update every 90 days. The California Sex Offender Registry keeps track of the next required update, and if a registered sex offender is in violation of the update requirements, this website will show the registrant as being in violation.

Updating Registration

When registrants change their residence address or become transient (homeless), they are required to update their registration information within five working days with a local law enforcement agency. The local agency then forwards this information to DOJ. DOJ updates this website on a daily basis based upon the information received from local law enforcement agencies.

Pursuant to PC Section 290.46, sex offender information is displayed according to specific posting categories based upon conviction. The home address category requires that the home address of the offender be posted. The ZIP Code category requires that the offender’s ZIP Code, city and county be posted but not his or her home address. The conditional home address category requires that some offenders be moved from the ZIP Code category to the home address category upon conviction of another registrable offense. There is also a category of registered sex offenders that cannot, by law, be displayed on the Megan’s Law website. However, those offenders are still required to register as sex offenders with local law enforcement agencies.

What is SB 384?

Effective January 1, 2021, Senate Bill (SB) 384 transitioned California’s lifetime sex offender registration schema to a tier-based schema. SB 384 established three tiers of registration for adult registrants for periods of 10 years, 20 years, and life, and two tiers of registration for juvenile registrants for periods of 5 years and 10 years. SB 384 allows the registrant to petition the superior court or juvenile court for termination of their sex offender registration requirement on or after their next birthday after July 1, 2021, following the expiration of their mandated minimum registration period. Based on criteria listed in SB 384, the court will either grant or deny the petition.

Important Dates

Beginning on January 1, 2021, the CA DOJ designates tiers for registrants. Beginning on July 1, 2021, on or after their next birthday after July 1, 2021, registrants who meet the mandated minimum requirements may petition for termination of their sex offender registration requirement in the superior court or juvenile court in the county in which they reside.

Beginning on January 1, 2022, registrants will be displayed on the Megan’s Law website pursuant to Penal Code Section 290.46 as amended under SB 384.

When did SB 384 take effect?

The tier-based sex offender registration schema took effect on January 1, 2021. Pursuant to PC Section 290.5(a)(1) as amended under SB 118 and SB 384, tier one, tier two, and “Tier Three – Risk Assessment Level” registrants may file a petition in the superior court or juvenile court in their county of residence for termination of their California sex offender registration requirement. Registrants may petition the court following the expiration of their mandated minimum registration period on or after their next birthday after July 1, 2021. Beginning January 1, 2022, the CA DOJ will make information available to the public via the Megan’s Law website in accordance with SB 384.  The previous lifetime sex offender registration schema ended December 31, 2020.


How are the tiers determined?

Tiers are designated in accordance with the criteria specified in PC Sections 290 through 290.024, et seq., the Sex Offender Registration Act, which include registrable conviction(s) or adjudication(s) from California and non-California jurisdictions, risk assessment scores and levels, and other criteria.

What are the mandatory minimum registration periods for individuals who were convicted of their registrable offenses in superior court?

  • Tier One: 10 years
  • Tier Two: 20 years
  • Tier Three – Risk Assessment Level: 20 years* Tier Three: Lifetime *Please refer to Penal Code section 290.5(b)(3) as amended under SB 384 for additional information

What are the mandatory minimum registration periods for individuals who were adjudicated of their registrable offenses in juvenile court?

  • Tier One: 5 years
  • Tier Two: 10 years

What is considered when determining whether I have met my mandatory minimum registration period?

Pursuant to PC Section 290(e), “the minimum time period for the completion of the required registration period in tier one or two commences on the date of release from incarceration, placement, or commitment, including any related civil commitment on the registerable offense. The minimum time for the completion of the required registration period for a designated tier is tolled during any period of subsequent incarceration, placement, or commitment, including any subsequent civil commitment, except that arrests not resulting in conviction, adjudication, or revocation of probation or parole shall not toll the required registration period. The minimum time period shall be extended by one year for each misdemeanor conviction of failing to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act (the Act), and by three years for each felony conviction of failing to register under the Act, without regard to the actual time served in custody for the conviction. If a registrant is subsequently convicted of another offense requiring registration pursuant to the Act, a new minimum time period for the completion of the registration requirement for the applicable tier shall commence upon that person’s release from incarceration, placement, or commitment, including any related civil commitment. If the subsequent conviction requiring registration pursuant to the Act occurs prior to an order to terminate the registrant from the registry after completion of a tier associated with the first conviction for a registerable offense, the applicable tier shall be the highest tier associated with the convictions.”

Who determines my tier designation?

The CA DOJ designates the tiers of most sex offender registrants. However, pursuant to PC Section 290.006, on and after January 1, 2021, the court shall determine the tier designations for individuals ordered by the court to register. Registrants who are court-ordered to register will be designated as tier one unless the court finds the person should register as a tier two or tier three registrant and states on the record the reasons for its finding. An individual is court-ordered to register pursuant to PC Section 290.006 when an individual is convicted of an offense, is not required to register pursuant to PC Section 290, and the court makes a finding that the person committed the offense as a result of sexual compulsion or for purposes of sexual gratification.

Will I be notified of my tier designation?

Registrants may request their local registering agencies to provide them with their tier notification letters.

What if I disagree with my tier designation?

Registrants who feel they have been designated as the wrong tier as specified in the Act as amended under SB 384 should consult with a public defender’s office or a private attorney.

Additional information may be found on the California Department of Justice Sex Offender Registry,

Sex Offender Management Program

Pursuant to PC Section 3008, CDCR must implement a sex offender parolee management and containment program developed in accordance with the standards established under PC 9003. SOMP is a comprehensive program consisting of enhanced supervision; sex offender parolee specific treatment; polygraph use; and victim advocacy, and is intended for the management of all parolees required to register with law enforcement, pursuant to PC Section 290.

All offenders under DAPO supervision convicted of a crime requiring registration under the Sex Offender Registration Act codified in PC Section 290 et seq., shall be supervised in accordance with the SOMP policy.

Pursuant to PC Section 3010.10, a person who is required to register as a sex offender pursuant to PC Section 290 as a condition of parole, shall report to their parole agent within one working day following release from custody or as instructed by a parole agent, to have an electronic GPS device affixed to their person. Initial contact shall not exceed two days from the date of release. All parolees, including Interstate Compact transfers, who are convicted of a crime listed in PC Sections 290 through 290.024, inclusive, may be subject to residency restrictions and transient requirements on a case-by-case basis. Parole agents shall ensure that applicable residency restrictions for sex offender parolees subject to parole supervision are imposed and adhered to. Parole agents shall impose residency restrictions in accordance with applicable California statute and in accordance with Special Conditions of Parole (SCOP) that meet the requirements set forth in People v. Lent (1975) 15 Cal.3d 481, 486. However, local ordinances shall not be enforced since State law overrides local ordinances.

Supervision of Sex Offender – Containment Model

CDCR supervises and monitors High-Risk Sex Offenders (HRSOs) under what is commonly known as the Containment Model. This system provides a method of reducing the risk to the community through the interdisciplinary team approach of strict supervision, treatment, accountability, and victim sensitivity. Community collaboration is essential

  • Community including family, friends, employers, and law enforcement are involved in imposing external controls.
  • Community supervision is provided by parole agents
  • Community concern for the safety and privacy of known victims and victims’ families are often addressed by the victim advocate Victim-Centered Approach. A victim-centered approach to the management of sex offenders:
  • Values public safety, victim protection, and reparation
  • Is designated to aid victims and control offenders
  • Strives to empower victims of sexual assault.

Sex Offender Management Program – Containment Team Meetings

The Containment Team meeting is a collaborative effort establishing a mechanism of consistent communication with all involved parties. The purpose of the Containment Team meeting is to review relevant case factors, sex offender treatment progress, dynamic risk factors, polygraph results, community reintegration, response to parole supervision, and supervision category.

The Containment Team shall normally consist of a parole agent, unit supervisor, sex offender parolee, contracted clinician (licensed psychiatrist, psychologist, and/or psychiatric social worker directly treating the sex offender parolee), and victim advocacy representative. The Containment Team may also include other relevant stakeholders, sex offender parolee family members, or members of the sex offender parolee’s community support network. Efforts should be made to ensure all members of the Containment Team are present during normally scheduled Containment Team meetings. In the event members of the Containment Team are not available to meet, the Containment Team shall minimally consist of a contracted clinician, parole agent, unit supervisor and the sex offender parolee.

Although Containment Team meetings are intended to occur in person, they can be conducted by teleconference/video conference calls when necessary, and only when approved by the unit supervisor or above.

Gang Registration

3651. Penal Code Section 186.30 Registrants (Gang Offenders)

(a) Any inmate/parolee required to register pursuant to PC Section 186.30 shall register with the Chief of Police of the city in which he or she resides, or the Sheriff of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated area or in a city that has no police department, within 10 days of release from custody or within 10 days of his or her arrival in any city, county, or city and county to reside, whichever comes first.

(b) The registration required by PC Section 186.30 shall consist of the following:

  1. The parolee shall appear at the law enforcement agency.
  2. The law enforcement agency will serve the parolee with a California Street Terrorism Enforcement and Prevention Act notification which includes, where applicable, that the parolee belongs to a Security Threat Group (STG) whose members engage in or have engaged in a pattern of criminal STG activity as described in PC Section 186.22(e).
  3. The parolee shall submit a written statement, signed by the parolee, giving any information that may be required by the law enforcement agency.
  4. The parolee shall submit his or her fingerprints and a current photograph to the law enforcement agency.

(c) Within 10 days of changing his or her residence address, any person required to register shall inform, in writing, the law enforcement agency with whom he or she last registered, of his or her new address. If his or her new residence address is located within the jurisdiction of a law enforcement agency other than the agency where he or she last registered, he or she shall also register with the new law enforcement agency, in writing, within 10 days of the change of residence.

(d) Any parolee required to register who knowingly violates any of the provisions of PC Section 186.30 is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(e) Any person who is required under PC Section 186.30 and who knowingly fails to register, and who is subsequently convicted of or subject to a juvenile petition that is sustained for a violation of any of the offenses in PC Section 186.30 is subject to an additional term of imprisonment in the state prison.

(f) The registration requirement terminates five years after the last imposition of a registration requirement that arose under PC Section 186.30.

Note: Authority cited: Section 5058, Penal Code. Reference: Sections 186.30, 186.32, 186.33 and 5054, Penal Code.


  1. New section filed 8-11-2009; operative 9-10-2009 (Register 2009, No. 33).
  2. Amendment of subsection (b)(2) filed 10-17-2014; operative 10-17-2014 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4(b)(3) (Register 2014, No. 42).

Arson Registration

Penal Code Section 457.1 – Arson Registration 457.1. (a) As used in this section, “arson” means a violation of Section 451, 451.5, or 453, and attempted arson, which includes, but is not limited to, a violation of Section 455. (b) (1) Every person described in paragraph (2), (3), and (4), for the periods specified therein, shall, while residing in, or if the person has no residence, while located in California, be required to, within 14 days of coming into, or changing the person’s residence or location within any city, county, city and county, or campus wherein the person temporarily resides, or if the person has no residence, is located.

Simply stated, qualifying offenders required to register as an arson offender must, within 14 days of their release, register with the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over their residence.  A copy of the registration must be provided to their parole agent.  Additionally, the offender must update their registration within 14 days of changing their address.

PC Section 457.1 has many subsections that affect arson registration and should be reviewed in its entirety for complete information.


DAPO in collaboration with the DRP is committed to reducing recidivism by providing evidence-based programming to the parolee population.  Collaboration with community stakeholders and DRP-contracted providers is essential for successful reintegration of parolees into the community.

DAPO provides specialized guidance, support, program oversight and acts as liaison to DRP ensuring parolee participation in:

  • DRP-Contracted Programs
  • Non-Contracted & Community-based Treatment Programs
  • Parole and Community Team (PACT) Orientation Meetings
  • Lifer Peer Reentry Navigation Network (PRNN)
  • Women Empowerment Support Group (WE)

DRP-Contracted Programs

DRP has established contracts with specific programs statewide to address a parolee’s criminogenic needs. Your parole agent will know if these programs and resources are available in your area and will be able to refer you to them if they are.

Non-Contracted or Community-Based Treatment Programs

Non-Contracted or “Community–Based treatment programs” are programs in the community that will address a parolee’s criminogenic needs.

  • Alcohol Anonymous Classes
  • Narcotic Anonymous Classes
  • Residential Drug Treatment
  • Employments Services, etc.

Parole and Community Team

The Parole and Community Team (PACT) creates partnerships with local law enforcement agencies, community resource providers, and social service agencies in an effort to reduce crime and improve a parolee’s access to needed services in the community. 

If it is available in your area, you will be instructed to attend the mandatory PACT meeting shortly after you are released. While the meeting is mandatory for newly released parolees, any parolee needing additional resources is welcome to participate. Your participation at the PACT orientation meeting will allow you to engage in community-based programming and will provide you with opportunity to learn about, contact, and enroll in available community programs.

DAPO provides parolees with timely information about community resources and required programming, which improves public safety and promotes successful reintegration into the community.  Upon request, you will be provided with a PACT Resource Brochure, which lists contact information for the service providers in your county.

Peer Reentry Navigation Network Program

The Peer Reentry Navigation Network (PRNN) is a program specifically for formally incarcerated long-term offenders who have been found suitable for release by the Board of Parole Hearings (BPH).  Being released back into the community after many years of incarceration presents numerous challenges that the PRNN will address including reintegration and transitional topic discussions, finding access to housing, exploring employment opportunities and reuniting with family and friends. Equally important, the group provides a support system of peers who have also experienced the impact of long-term incarceration. Additionally the PRNN hosts parole professionals who specialize in serving long-term offenders as well as community partners who provide resource services and support.​ Parole facilitates the PRNN meetings each month throughout the State. Contact your parole agent for information about the PRNN Program.

Women Empowerment Support Group

The Women Empowerment (WE) Support Group provides support, assistance, and guidance to women on parole who are adapting to the day-to-day challenges, while striving toward successful community reintegration.  DAPO facilitates the WE meetings each month throughout the State.   Contact your parole agent for information about this program. 

Females Achieving Change Together

The Females Achieving Change Together (FACT) meetings represent DAPO’s commitment to creating programs and supervision strategies aimed to reduce female recidivism.  The program was created in 2014 by the Northern Region Programs Team in Fresno.

Since then, FACT has expanded to Sacramento and San Francisco (SF). The specialized female parolee program was created to focus on the needs of females upon reentry. Many female offenders have suffered physical, emotional, and sexual abuse that create unique challenges for females to reintegrate back into society.  Each area event offers reentry resources to female parolees focusing on gender-responsive solutions to help them thrive in society and reduce the likelihood of going back to jail or prison.

Adult Program Unit


Enhance public safety and promote successful community reintegration through education, treatment, and active participation in rehabilitative and restorative justice programs.


To facilitate the successful reintegration of the individuals in our care back to their communities equipped with the tools to be drug-free, healthy, and employable members of society by providing education, treatment, rehabilitative, and restorative justice programs, all in a safe and humane environment.


Adult Program Unit (APU) acts as the DAPO community liaison with multiple community social justice reform and reentry groups.  APU provides transparency of our Department to the community as a whole and works with the social justice organizations, law enforcement, educational institutions, and employers to establish joint collaboration of multitude of new and developing reentry programs.  APU develops and establishes array of new re-entry programs and services for our justice-involved population.


APU is located at each District Parole Office throughout the State of California.  Contact a team member of the APU for assistance with addressing your criminogenic needs and for available resources/services in your area of supervision. 

Resource Brochure

A Resource Brochure is available upon request at your local parole office.

Home/Field/Office Visits

Home Contact – The parole agent conducts a home visit at the parolee’s residence of record. The home contact should be unscheduled and unannounced unless approved by the unit supervisor in writing. The home contact is conducted to:

  • Ensure the parolee is residing at their residence of record.
  • To become familiar with the parolee’s significant others.
  • Continue case management processes.

For transients (homeless), a field contact at a location where the parolee frequents or sleeps shall be conducted in lieu of the required home contact.

Additional Face-to-Face Contact – An additional in person contact with the parolee that includes, but is not limited to:

  • Working with the parolee on their criminogenic needs.
  • Conducting a comprehensive search.
  • Facilitating a group.
  • Participating in a community meeting.
  • Contacting the parolee at their residence a second time.
  • Contacting the parolee at their place of employment, the parole unit or in the field.

Urinalysis Test – Conduct a random and unscheduled urinalysis test, if applicable.

Significant Collateral – A significant collateral is a person who has significant knowledge of the parolee. This includes, but is not limited to, an individual who makes up a parolee’s support group, family, friends, neighbors, associates, church members, colleagues, members of social groups, etc. Individuals who play a consistent part in the parolee’s life before, during and after parole.

Resource Collateral – A resource collateral is a person, group, or organization, which assists the parolee in addressing their criminogenic needs.

Law Enforcement Collateral – Information received from law enforcement that meets the criteria of a significant or resource collateral as stated above.

Interstate Transfer

Interstate Policy

California is a member of the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision (ICAOS). This compact is the legal authority that permits an offender convicted of a crime in one state (sending state) to be supervised in another state (receiving state). Compact Offenders shall receive similar services as California parolees and shall be supervised in the same manner as a California parolee.

California is not required to accept all transfer requests. Legal residents of California, or offenders with family residing in California who can locate employment may be accepted for Compact supervision. Offenders who are not residents or do not have family residing in California must have a compelling circumstance to be accepted for Compact supervision.

Compact Offenders shall be supervised in a manner determined by the receiving state and consistent with the supervision of other similar offenders sentenced in the receiving state. . A Compact Offender shall be supervised with the same specifications according to the California Parole Supervision Reintegration Model (CPSRM); or if the Compact Offender is required to register per PC Section 290, according to the specifications of the Sex Offender Management Program (SOMP).

Compact Offenders Conditions of Parole

Compact Offenders are subject to supervision conditions of both the receiving and sending state. When the offender signs the “Offender’s Application for Interstate Transfer” ICAOS form and the case is accepted, it is understood under the Compact that the offender must obey rules of receiving state as well as rules of sending state. At the time of acceptance or during the term of supervision, the compact administrator or supervising authority in the receiving state may impose a special condition on a Compact Offender if that special condition would have been imposed on the offender if sentence had been imposed in the receiving state. Compact Offenders who violate the supervision conditions of either state, or who are a danger to others, themselves, or to property of others, shall be placed in custody under a California Interstate Parole Hold (PC Section 3056/11177.1).

If the offender does not report within five business days of the specified reporting instructions and California has received notice of the offender’s departure, the parole agent shall submit a “Notice of Arrival/Failure to Report” ICAOS form to DAPO, Interstate Compact Unit (ICU).


On July 1, 2013, Courts assumed responsibility for the adjudication of all parole violations, regardless of when the parolees committed the alleged violation, the date of the underlying crime, the nature of the underlying crime, or when they were sentenced to state prison.

Parolees will be subject to parole supervision by DAPO and the jurisdiction of the court in the county where the parolee is released or resides for the purpose of hearing petitions to revoke parole and imposed a term of custody. DAPO will continue to be responsible for supervision of persons placed on parole after July 1, 2013.

The role of the courts and CDCR/DAPO with respect to persons on parole after July 1, 2013

Revocation proceedings will no longer be administrative proceedings conducted by the Board of Parole Hearings (BPH).  Instead, parole revocation proceedings will be adversarial judicial proceedings conducted in the superior courts under PC Section 1203.2.

Parolees covered by the new procedures

  • Parolees released from state prison after serving a term whose prison sentence was deemed served under PC Section 2900.5 for the following crimes will be under the jurisdiction of the courts for purposes of adjudicating parole violations: (PC Section 3000.08(a))
    • Serious or violent felonies described in PC Sections 1192.7 (c) and 667.5 (c)
    • Crimes sentenced under PC Sections 667(e)(2) or 1170.1(c) – defendants sentenced as third strike offenders under the Three Strikes Law

Must CDCR/DAPO attempt to informally resolve parole violations before filing a formal petition in the courts?

After finding good cause that the parolee has violated a condition of parole, DAPO may add additional conditions of parole, including treatment and rehabilitation services, incentives, and “immediate, ….” (PC Section 3000.08 (d)). Furthermore, PC Section 3000.08(f) requires DAPO to determine that intermediate sanctions are not appropriate before filing a formal petition to revoke parole. Sometimes, as where a new felony offense has been charged or where the parolee has absconded, DAPO may make such a determination without exhausting intermediate sanctions.

When do courts become involved with a parole violation?

With the filing of a petition to revoke parole. If DAPO determines that intermediate sanctions are “not appropriate,” the agency may file a petition with the courts pursuant to PC Section 1203.2 for revocation of parole. It is filed in the superior court where parolee is being supervised (PC Section 3000.08 (f)).

Are parolees entitle to appointed counsel for a violation court hearing?

Violation proceedings are being conducted in accordance with PC Section 1203.2, parolees will be entitled to counsel, including, if necessary, appointed counsel. (See People v. Vickers (1972) 8 Cal.3d 451, 461) See also PC Section 3000.08 (f), which references parolees’ option of waiving the right to counsel.

Who may conduct the revocation hearings?

The courts, through a judge, magistrate, or qualified revocation hearing officer. PC Section 3000.08 states that the “court” must conduct revocation proceedings pursuant to PC Section 1203.2.  PC Section 1203.2 (f) clarifies that “court” means a “judge magistrate, or revocation hearing officer described in Section 71622.5 of the Government Code.”

The Legislature has clearly brought the parole revocation process under the umbrella of PC Section 1203.2 such that the standard should be a “reasonable time.” Because it is not clear whether Marsy’s Law will establish the time limit, prudent courts may wish to hold violation hearings within 45 days of the parolee’s arrest unless time is waived.

If parolees are found in violation of parole, what sanctions may courts impose?

  • Return the parolee to parole supervision with a modification, if appropriate, including, a period of incarceration in county jail up to 180 days for each revocation (PC Section 3000.08 (f)(1). For every two days of actual custody served, the parolee will receive a total of four days of credit under PC Section 4019 (a)(5).
  • Revoke parole and order the person to confinement in the county jail for up to 180 days (PC Section 3000.08 (f)(2)).  For every two days of actual custody served, the parolee will receive a total of four days of credit under PC Section 4019(a)(5).
  • Refer the parolee to a reentry court pursuant to PC Section 3015 or other evidence-based program in court’s decision (PC Section 3000.08 (f)(3)).
  • Place the parolee electronic monitoring as a condition of reinstatement on parole or as an intermediate sanction in lieu of returning the parolee to custody

Court proceedings adjudicating parole violations

Valdivia v. Schwarzenegger, No CIV S-94-0671 (Valdivia). In 2004, the parties to the action entered into an agreement whereby they agreed to the court’s entry of a consent decree granting plaintiffs a permanent injunction, including various procedural protections for parolees. Among them are:

  • The right to appointed counsel beginning when the parolee is offered a stipulated disposition
  • Not later than 48 hours after a parole hold, the parole agent must confer with their supervisor regarding probable cause to continue the hold
  • A probable cause hearing held within 10 business days after the parolee is served with the notice of change (by the third day after the placement of the hold)
  • A final revocation hearing within 35 calendar days of placement of the parole hold (in recognition of Marsy’s Law, the time limit for the hearing subsequently was changed to 45 days)

PC Section 3044(a), enacted by Marsy’s Law in 2008, designates the rights available to parolees subject to parole revocation proceedings. These rights include the following:

  • The right to a probable cause hearing no later than 15 days following arrest for the parole violation
  • The right to an evidentiary revocation hearing within 45 days following arrest for the parole violation.
  • The right to counsel on limited basis
  • The violation must be provided by a preponderance of the evidence by testimony, documentary evidence, or hearsay evidence offered by parole agents, peace officers, or a victim,” (PC Section 3044(a)(5))

Parole services available to the courts and parolees

Because DAPO is responsible for physical supervision of parolees, all supervision and treatment services will come through state parole and are available through the PU.

Court ordered treatment or supervision plans are based on a validated risk assessment tool and the Parole Violation Decision Making Instrument (PVDMI).

Reentry Court Program

The Reentry Court Program (RCP) is designed to divert parole violators from returning to prison by providing enhanced supervision and services through an array of community-based programs.  RCPs are adjudicated, administered, and overseen by the respective counties.  The program is expected to promote public safety, hold parolees accountable, and reduced recidivism. DAPO shall support the RCP by referring eligible program participants, as well as, assigning RCP parole agents to the various courts to participate as part of the RCP Team.

Eligible parolees with a history of substance abuse and mental illness, who violate their conditions of parole, to be referred to the RCP by CDCR staff.  Entry or denial into the program is at the discretion of the courts, subsequent to their review and disposition of individual cases.  Once admitted into the program, the courts assume exclusive authority over the parolee’s rehabilitation, supervisory and community oversight as related to RCP.

Grievance Process

If you feel that you are not being treated fairly by CDCR, DAPO staff or you have a complaint, there is a procedure in place to file a grievance and have your issue addressed. This process begins when you notify your parole agent that you want to file a grievance. Grievances are governed by time limits, so this should be done as soon as you see a problem starting. If your parole agent cannot help you with your problem, ask to speak with the unit supervisor. The complete policy on grievances is available from your parole agent or at one of our offices.

A complaint by an inmate or parolee under the Department’s jurisdiction shall be made on the CDCR Form 602, Inmate/Parolee Appeal under the appeal process outlined in the California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 15, Sections 3084 through 3084.7.

CDCR Form 602 – Inmate/Parolee Appeal Form

Inmates/parolees are afforded the right to appeal any action or decision made by the CDCR, DAPO. Pursuant to the Department Operations Manual (DOM) Section 54100.1, and the CCR, Title 15, Section 3084.3, appeals are monitored by the Appeals Coordinator in the Regional Parole Headquarters Office.

The appeal is submitted on a CDCR Form 602, and must be completed by the inmate/parolee. Upon completing Sections A and B, the parolee may submit the CDCR Form 602 directly to the parole agent or unit supervisor for an informal level response, or may submit it directly to the Appeals Coordinator.

Upon review by the Appeals Coordinator, it will be determined if the CDCR Form 602 is properly filed and within guidelines as outlined in the CCR, Title 15 and California PC.

If not, the CDCR Form 602 will be screened out on a CDCR Form 695, Inmate/Parolee Appeals Screening form and returned to the parolee with an explanation. If additional documents or information is requested by the Appeals Coordinator, the CDCR Form 602 may be resubmitted. If properly submitted, an answer/solution may be afforded or referred to the proper authority for a Level I or II response.  Refer to CCR, Title 15, Section 3084.5 for proper timeline requirements. 

An example of page 1 of CDCR Form 601, Inmate/Parolee Appeal
CDCR Form 601 Page 1
An example of page 2 of CDCR Form 601, Inmate/Parolee Appeal
CDCR Form 601 Page 2

CDCR Form 1824 – Reasonable Accommodation Request Form

Inmates/parolees with a disability may request an accommodation to access programs, services, activities or grieve alleged discrimination through the CDCR Form 1824, Reasonable Accommodation Request Form, appeal process. All answered CDCR Form 1824’s must be forwarded to the Appeals Coordinator of the institution were the parolee is housed or Regional Headquarters based on the issue and location of the parolee. If properly submitted, an answer/solution may be afforded by the Appeals Coordinator or referred to the proper authority for a Level I response. CDCR Form 1824s that do not meet the ADA criteria will be ‘screened out’ on a CDCR Form 695, or may be converted to a CDCR Form CDCR 602, if applicable.  All CDCR Form 1824s must be submitted to the Regional Appeals Coordinator immediately for the completed CDCR Form 1824 to be forwarded to the Division ADA Coordinator.  Refer to CCR, Title 15, Section 3084.5, for proper timeline requirements.

An example of CDCR Form 1824, Reasonable Accommodation Request
CDCR Form 1824

A person not under the jurisdiction of CDCR can file a Citizen’s Complaint

CDCR is committed to ensuring all departmental employees are courteous, ethical and professional in carrying out the Department’s mission. The Department shall investigate citizens’ complaints against employees to preserve the integrity and morale of the Department, foster public trust and confidence, and ensure accountability to the public. The investigations shall be thorough and impartial, with the intent of correcting or disciplining employees who engage in misconduct, identifying inadequate policies and training, and protecting employees who perform their duties properly from unwarranted criticism.

CDCR Form 2142, Citizen’s Complaint Against Employees of CDCR is available at any parole office or local regional office upon request.



An example of page 1 of CDCR Form 2142, Citizen's Complaint Against Employees of CDCR
CDCR Form 2142 Page 1
An example of page 1 of CDCR Form 2142, Citizen's Complaint Against Employees of CDCR
CDCR 2142 Page 2

Your complaint may be submitted to any supervisor or manager of the Department, or may be addressed to the Department’s Office of Internal Affairs at any of the Regional Offices indicated below.

Office of Internal Affairs

Northern Region
P.O. Box 3009
Sacramento, CA 95812 Suite 105
(916) 255-1301

Central Region
5100 Young Street
Building B, Suite 160A
Bakersfield, CA 93311
(661) 664-2054

Southern Region
9035 Haven Avenue, Suite 105
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730