Bay Area Counties Shelter in Place Orders

Updated 3/17/20

Effective March 16, the following six Bay Area counties announced shelter in place orders through April 7, 2020:

  • San Francisco
  • Santa Clara
  • San Mateo
  • Marin
  • Contra Costa
  • Alameda

The orders exempt essential activities including:

  • Performing work providing Essential Business or Essential Government functions.
  • The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation and California Correctional Health Care Services are considered an essential governmental function.